2021 MOHL Research Award

award tablet image

The Hatfield Library is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Mark O. Hatfield Research Award. This award is given for a student paper in any discipline that demonstrates outstanding research using library and information resources. The paper must have been written in the sophomore or junior year as part of regular class work. Up to two awards are given each year and winners receive $500. This year we received an abundance of wonderful papers from a variety of disciplines including anthropology, history, environmental science, religious studies, art history, biology, civic communication and media, and politics, policy, law and ethics.

The winners for 2021 are:

Lauren Burchinal for her paper “The Intersection of Sumerian Royal Inscriptions and City Laments” (Faculty sponsor–Mary Bachvarova)

Renae Wilkinson for her paper “Urban Forest Distribution in Austin, Texas” (Faculty sponsor–Joe Bowersox)

Congratulations to Lauren and Renae for their outstanding work! Also, many thanks to Joni Roberts, and the Hatfield Librarians for serving on the adjudication committee for the award.

Craig Milberg
University Librarian
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University