2019 MOHL Research Awards

award tablet imageThe Hatfield Library is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Mark O. Hatfield Research Award. This award is given for a student paper in any discipline that demonstrates outstanding research using library and information resources. The paper must have been written in the sophomore or junior year as part of regular class work. Up to two awards are given each year and winners receive $500. This year we received an abundance of wonderful papers from a variety of disciplines including anthropology, history, environmental science, religious studies, art history, biology, civic communication and media, and politics, policy, law and ethics.

The winners for 2019 are:

McKenna Aune–“Evaluation of the Dakota Access Pipeline Project” (Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics)

Niko Hellman–“A Construction of Dependency: White Supremacy and Anti-Miscegenation Laws” (History)

Congratulations to McKenna and Niko for their outstanding work! Also, many thanks to Gretchen Moon, Joni Roberts, and the Hatfield Librarians for serving on the adjudication committee for the award.

Craig Milberg
University Librarian
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University